Seaborg Home Information Symposium Program Registration Poster Session Donors

"The Revolution in Electron Cryo-Microscopy"

On Saturday, November 10, 2018,
The UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry,
in recognition of their crucial contributions to the science of electron cryo-microscopy,
will award the 2018 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to

Robert Glaeser

Dr. Robert Glaeser
University of California, Berkeley


Dr. Richard Henderson
Nobel Laureate Chemistry 2017
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Poster Session - UCLA CNSI Lobby - 12:00 to 1:00 pm, Symposium - UCLA CNSI Auditorium - 1:00 to 5:15 pm
Reception & Dinner - UCLA Luskin Center - 6:00 to 9:00 pm
Jose Rodriguez Elizabeth Villa Robert Glaeser Richard Henderson
Dr. Jose Rodriguez
University of California,
Los Angeles
Dr. Elizabeth Villa
University of California,
San Diego
Dr. Robert Glaeser
University of California,
Dr. Richard Henderson
MRC Laboratory of Microbiology, Cambridge

Dr. Robert Glaeser (Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley) is a biophysicist and structural biologist who grew up in Wisconsin, where he obtained a bachelor's degree from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. After completing the Ph.D. in Biophysics at the University of California, Berkeley, he spent one year as a postdoctoral fellow in Oxford and a second year as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Chicago. He then returned to Berkeley as a faculty member and as a Staff Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. His University service includes a 5-year term as Divisional Dean of Biological Sciences, and his professional service includes a term as president of the Microscopy Society of America and a term as council member of the Biophysical Society. His professional honors include a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, the Alexander von Humboldt Award, membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Richard Henderson (MRC Laboratory of Microbiology, Cambridge) is a Scottish biophysicist and molecular biologist who was the first to successfully produce a three-dimensional image of a biological molecule at atomic resolution using a technique known as cryo-electron microscopy. Henderson's refinement of imaging methods for cryo-electron microscopy, in which biomolecules are frozen in such a way that allows them to retain their natural shape and are then visualized with a high-resolution microscope, enabled researchers to capture images of numerous biomolecular structures that previously could not be imaged by other means. He was awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (shared with biophysicists Jacques Dubochet and Joachim Frank) for his work.


Dr. Jose Rodriguez (Howard Reiss Career Development Chair, Department of Chemistry & BIochemistry, University of California, Los Angeles) Rodriguez is a true Bruin. He received both his B.S. in BioPhysics and his Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from UCLA. His lab studies the complex architecture of biological systems – from single biomolecules to cellular assemblies – at high resolution. Rodriguez's work is largely based on diffraction phenomena and combines computational, biochemical and biophysical experiments. The development of new methods is central to this work, particularly using emerging technologies in cryo-electron microscopy, nano and coherent x-ray diffraction, and macromolecular design. Combined, these tools can reveal undiscovered structures that broadly influence chemistry, biology, and medicine. In 2017, Rodriguez was named a Searle Scholar, awarded funding to support his work exploring the atomic scale interrogation of protein nano-assemblies within living systems. He was also selected as a 2017 Beckman Young Investigator by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, receiving funding to improve understanding and application of advanced electron microscopy methods including electron diffraction for the purposes of revealing new and important macromolecular structures and informing of their function.

Dr. Elizabeth Villa (Division of Biological Sciences, University of California San Diego) completed her Ph.D. in biophysics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a Fulbright Fellow and then was a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow in the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Munich. In 2016, she was granted an NIH Director's New Innovator Award, which allows her to pursue high-risk, high-reward research developing tags for cryo-electron tomography (cryo-ET) and developing new technological and computational techniques to advance structural cell biology. In 2017, she was named a Pew Scholar. Villa's laboratory has a strong focus on building tools for quantitative cell biology, using cryo-electron microscopy and tomography, cell biophysics, computational analysis and integrative modeling. This potent combination enables the observation of macromolecular complexes in their native environment to derive their structure, context and interaction partners. Her current research is focused on studying how genetic Parkinson's affects cells, and on charting the nucleus, as nuclear biology remains one of the most exciting challenges in the cell. Her lab also pursues many collaborations aimed at understanding bacterial cell biology.
Paul Alivisatos  

On Saturday, November 23, 2019,
The UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
will award the 2019 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to

Dr. Paul Alivisatos
Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology,
Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science & Engineering,
University of California, Berkeley

Questions? E-mail Penny Jennings, or call (310) 825-9809
UCLA Chem & Biochem Alumni Info Previous Recipients Seaborg Biography

Updated 11/08/2018
Webmaster - Penny Jennings,